Obama flip-flop on detainee photos a welcome one

Posted on May 14, 2009

1



Better late than never, I say. Citing concerns over how the release of photos depicting detainees might affect troops in Iraq and Afghanistan, the Obama administration is signalling that it will renege on its promise to allow the photos to be released. It might be a flip-flop, but it’s a welcome one as far as I’m concerned, and I give credit to the administration for coming to the right conclusion, albeit a bit slowly.

I’m still troubled by their initial reaction to release the photos, but luckily they were able to pull back in time before the international damage was done. Now I’m curious to see if anyone will pick up the difference in responses by the strident anti-war left to decisions by Obama and Bush to be hesitant about exposing images of “war crimes.” My guess is we won’t hear a peep out of them, when the same crowd would be pitching a fit if our last President had done the same thing. Well, I’d like to think I’m better than that, so good job on this one, Obama.

Posted in: News, Politics