1 in 6 dollars of American income come from the government

Posted on June 4, 2009

0



The Bureau of Economic Analysis is reporting that 1 out of every 6 dollars of American income, or about 16.2%, comes from the federal government in the form of a payment or voucher. The article lists unemployment insurance, food stamps, and Social Security as the biggest reasons for the jump in social spending, which is the largest hike since statistics started being kept in 1929.

It all supposedly works out to $17,000 per household. Let me tell you right now – there’s no way in hell I’m getting an extra $17k from anybody right now. Where it’s really going … I’ll let you puzzle that one out. All I know is that it doesn’t seem economically healthy for such a large portion of American income to come from the government coffers, which are filled from taxpayer pockets anyway. So you could say it’s a fantastically working safety net, which I do agree is necessary, especially in tough times like these. But there’s also an undeniable aspect of wealth redistribution that I find more than a little uncomfortable.

Posted in: News, Politics