After 26 years, Reading Rainbow ends

Posted on August 28, 2009

0



reading-rainbow-300x262

A PBS staple for two and a half decades, the children’s show Reading Rainbow ended today. Hosted by LeVar Burton, it was the third longest-running children’s show in PBS history. Anyone who watched the show knows Burton’s trademark line before the kids start in with their own book reviews – ” … but you don’t have to take my word for it.”

I watched Reading Rainbowas a kid myself, and I’m a little sad to see it go off the air. It was a great show to get kids interested in books and reading, and as a child I was always fascinated by the different places LeVar would go, always inspired by the featured book of the episode. Reading Rainbow, 3-2-1 Contact, and Square One formed a triumvirate of afternoon PBS shows watched by my sisters and I that reinforced reading, science, and math respectively, and I’m grateful for their influence, as I do believe it helped me in school and in any event made those subjects fun and interesting and helped lead to my comfort with them.

Farewell, Reading Rainbow. This is one chapter we’re sad to close the book on.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: post to facebook

Posted in: Entertainment, News