Traficant out of prison and back on the scene

Posted on September 8, 2009

0



Traficant1

Former Rep. James Traficant was released from federal prison last Wednesday after serving seven years for bribery. He returned to Ohio on Sunday, where over 1,200 turned out in Boardman to welcome him back into society. The rally, much like Traficant, seemed to have a carnival-like atmosphere, with an Elvis impersonator and a Traficant look-a-like contest. The man himself had some juicy quotes:

I was a quarterback. I was a congressman. Now I’m a convict. I wouldn’t change one single thing. And to the powerful enemies that I have, I’ll just say this to you: They had to cheat to convict me.

I think it’s time to tell the FBI and the IRS that this is our country and we’re tired – tired of the pressure, tired of the political targeting, tired of a powerful central government that is crippling America.

Traficant is due to make an appearance on the Greta van Susteren show on Friday, where he may possibly discuss his future in politics (apparently no federal law prohibits him running for Congress). If he gets back in the ring, get out your popcorn – it’ll be quite a show. (Heads-up from RedState.)

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: post to facebook

Posted in: Politics